Gorillaz announce their new album 'Humanz', April 28 release

music news 24/03/2017

Gorillaz are back. The world’s most successful virtual band will make their highly anticipated return with a new studio album, HUMANZ, to be released by April 28th, 2017.

Produced by Gorillaz, The Twilight Tone of D /\ P and Remi Kabaka and recorded in London, Paris, New York, Chicago and Jamaica, HUMANZ comes seven years on from the release of albums THE FALL and PLASTIC BEACH. Murdoc Niccals (bass), Noodle (guitar), Russel Hobbs (drums) and 2D(vocals) are – as always – joined by a stellar line up of featured artists which includes Jehnny Beth(Savages), Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle and Kali Uchis, among other.

A six-minute Jamie Hewlett-directed epic animated film, featuring four HUMANZ tracks – being ‘Saturnz Barz’ in full, plus highlights of ‘Ascension’, ‘Andromeda’ and ‘We Got The Power’ – is now available.

Watch ‘Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)’

The film – ‘Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)’, supported by YouTube – also affords an extraordinary cutting-edge VR video (360-3D) – watch here.

And an interactive VR version is set to be released in April.

The 14-track album HUMANZ will be available on standard CD, vinyl and as a digital download, as well as a 19-track 2-CD Deluxe set.

Gorillaz will headline the recently announced, sold-out Demon Dayz Festival at Dreamland Margate on 10th June. Full details of dates scheduled for later in the year, will be announced soon.

Pre-order HUMANZ: https://WMNZ.lnk.to/HumanzGorillazPR